Dave had 3 months to live

Yes, My WB:. Dave David Daugherty had 3 months to live, but that was 30 years ago.

My wife and I had the privilege of being in his company while in Washington DC during previous yearly Masonic Weeks.

Yesterday was his birthday and he wrote the following reflections:

I am in a reflective mood today.

Not only is this my 60th Bday, but this week marks my 37th year in Freemasonry!

30 years ago, I was given three months to live. As a breathing vegetable I had to relearn to crawl like a baby and learned to re walk following a Shrine Clown car in parades. Visiting clowns even tried to imitate me [if only they knew I was just trying to stay up]! Relearning to talk took place on a Scottish Rite Stage and re writing came with letter correspondence with several brethren. Gained strength and wisdom in the Masters Chair. As predicted. my wife left [I was no longer beautiful], my mother did not want me around because she knew that since I was half Blind and Deaf I would not enjoy my self !?! My 2nd wife tried to kill me. The 3rd is a charm.

This poem sums it up:

I asked God for strength that I might achieve;
I was made weak, that I might humbly learn to obey.

I asked for health that I might do greater things;
I was given infirmity that I might do better things.

I asked for riches that I might be happy;
I was given poverty that I might be wise.

I asked for power that I might have the praise of men;
I was given weakness that I might feel the need of God.

I asked for all things that I might enjoy life;
I was given life that I might enjoy all things.

I got nothing that I asked for….but everything that I had hoped for
Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers were answered.

I am, among men, most richly blessed.

My Supreme wish:

That Freemasons live their teachings, reguarless of race, rank, religion, pedigrees and politics and move toward Universal Brotherhood.

May Brotherly Love Prevail,

Dave

David M. Daugherty, Jr.

Esperamos su comentario

